Book Review: Last Girls

Book: Last Girls

Author: Demetra Brodsky

Rating: 4/5

Blurb (taken from Goodreads):

No one knows how the world will end.

On a secret compound in the Washington wilderness, Honey Juniper and her sisters are training to hunt, homestead, and protect their own.

Prepare for every situation.

But when danger strikes from within, putting her sisters at risk, training becomes real life, and only one thing is certain:

Nowhere is safe.

2534CCCC-4F7E-4C0F-BA36-675E89E0F2F9

Review:

Last Girls is the story of three sisters, Honey, Blue and Birdie living on a secret compound in the Washington state. They have been prepping for the end of the world all their lives. I did not know much about doomsday preppers before I started reading this book and I guess that’s why it took me some time to get into this book. But once I got into the story and slowly got to know the characters, this book turned out to be much better than my expectations. 

I loved the sisterhood in this book. This book is about the importance of having each other’s back in family, no matter what and after all that’s what a family is for right? Another element that I loved in the book was the sense of suspense and mystery that keeps you turning pages late into the night. One issue that I did have was that there was too much going on and that made it difficult to keep track at times.

Brodsky’s writing and character development was amazing and I am looking forward to reading more of her books!

This is such a befitting story for the current times. Reading this book in the middle of a pandemic added another layer of connection to this book. The Juniper family always has a stash of canned food and in this moment I could actually relate to it and understand its importance.

Overall, Last Girls is a thrilling story of sisterhood and survival. I would definitely recommend it to you if you like thrillers.

Favourite Quotes:

“Rules breed rebels. We’ve all been taught that the black sheep is a deviation from acceptable standards and something to be avoided. Still, when you see it amongst a herd, its lack of conformity is what steals your breath and captures your attention.”

“Our end will bring our beginning to light.”

“I used to hope. But hope can’t be trusted. Hope contradicts reality. That’s why we prep.”

Giveaway:

3 lucky winners can win a copy of this book by participating in the giveaway (US only).

Starts: April 29th 2020
Ends: May 13th 2020

You can check out the Tour Schedule here.

TOUR BANNER

I was given an e-ARC of this book by the FFBC through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.